Uncategorized

Two Children’s Books

51zzHJ-RcWL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-57,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_49 Excuses for Not Tidying Your Bedroom

By  James Warwood

We bought this book on a day that was too cold and wet to play outside. My kids, who are 5, 7, and 9, love being read to, and I thought this would be a fun way for us to spend a few minutes.

It didn’t work out that way. The writing is too advanced for the two little ones to even understand:

“Thanks to meditation I’ve discover (sic) my deeply spiritual inner self that doesn’t require a tidy bedroom to experience lasting happiness and inner peace…you look stressed, maybe you should try it too.”

Excuse after excuse, my children stare blankly at the page. My 9 year-old, in the meantime, walks off.

I enjoy many of our children’s books. But neither the excuses nor the illustrations get more than a slight and fleeting smile out of any of us.

51jMOohfbgL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_The Ant and the Bird

By Rachel Rogers

A “little black ant” gets rescued by a friendly bird, who then takes the ant home. His birdy friends, however, are not impressed. Not until the ant proves his worth.

This is a familiar story—remember You’re Too Small?—with new characters. But these characters are likable, and the rhymes are catchy:

“This ant is my friend

replied the kind bird

He isn’t for eating,

That is truly absurd.”

I read this for my 5-year-old, but my 7 and 9 year olds (and their daddy) enjoyed it too.

About Renegade

A husband and daddy, striving to love his neighbors and be kind to his pets. I love this life, good food, good beer, and a few good friends. My other interests are hiking, taking walks, lifting weights, reading books by manly authors like Hemmingway and Twain, and splitting fire wood with my bare hands.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Nowhere Tribune on WordPress.com

Categories

Copyright

Unless otherwise noted, all content © Me, the guy who wrote this stuff, 2012-2017.
