Uncategorized

Review: Gamer by Kim Smith

51stlm0bKTL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-67,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_Gamer: A Louie Huey and Chloe Robertson Mystery

By Kim A. Smith

Gamer is one of the few science fiction books that I’ve read, so I wasn’t sure how interested I would be. I was pleasantly surprised.

Two investigative reporters, Louie Huey and Chloe Robertson, investigate claims of the development of a time machine by an unruly University of Wisconsin professor. When Huey is offered a free trip to the past, he takes it. Others are also sent on trips, sometimes against their will.

Smith bases this story on true science, so not only is it fascinating, but it also sounds possible. The author makes important points about our world and how our perceptions—even what we believe as fact—are subject to change. Though this is an entertaining book, it is thought provoking and, sometimes, disturbing. Even when I wasn’t reading, I couldn’t quit thinking about it.

Smith’s story also explores the moral, ethical, and political consequences of the use of technology (such as time travel). One amusing example is the arrest of the professor who developed the “time-travel video game”. Though the story takes place in 2035, the professor is arrested by agents from 2075 for breaking a law passed in 2063. Work that one out.

Though I really enjoyed this book as is, it could benefit from some minor editing. Also, the dialogue, especially among friends and family members, sounds too formal, despite their use of profanity. But the problems are few, and they didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book.

Gamer is the third in a series of science fiction books, following Plagiarized and Possessed. After reading this one, I want to go back and read the first two, and then maybe go forward to read the books that Smith hasn’t yet written. If you want something entertaining and thought-provoking, I definitely recommend Gamer.

About the Author: “Kim Smith wrote Gamer in 2013, after numerous trips to the future and the past to conduct research for this book.”

Disclaimer: I received a free Kindle version of this book from the author with no agreement that I would review it.

About Nowhere Tribune

A husband and daddy, striving to love his neighbors and be kind to his pets. I love life, good food, good beer, and a few good friends. My other interests are hiking, taking walks, lifting weights, reading books by manly authors like Hemmingway and Twain, and splitting fire wood with my bare hands.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Nowhere Tribune on WordPress.com

Categories

Copyright

Unless otherwise noted, all content © Me, the guy who wrote this stuff, 2012-2017.
