Uncategorized

Book Review: Rise, by Trip Lee

51NhWbJHbHLIn Rise: Get Up and Live in God’s Great Story, Trip Lee encourages readers—particularly young readers—to not waste time or wait for a better opportunity to live for Christ:

“There’s no in-between phase where we just exist in a youth, college, or young singles ministry. You’re a real human being, a real follower of Christ, a real world-changer right now.”

Throughout his chapters, the author gives specific examples of areas where young people should grow up, exercise more caution, and become more responsible. All the while, he avoids self-righteousness, being quick to admit his own weaknesses. Though I wish I had read Rise when I was 20, there’s still plenty for me at (almost) 40.

Lee’s theme reminds me of John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life. Piper, by the way, wrote the forward to this book, which would be a compliment for any writer and adds credibility to any book.

I especially appreciate Lee’s writing style. It’s simple and smooth. He doesn’t use hard-to-understand theological terms or over-used Christian phrases (Lee calls it “churchy language….It’s kind of like pig Latin, but more sanctified”). He’s also witty: “I knew it! As soon as I saw him, I pinned him as the type of guy who judges others as soon as he sees them.”  Nor does Lee go quote-crazy, like many young Christian authors. We hear the author’s own voice, telling his own story, in his own way, and that’s refreshing. Here’s a sample:

“You’ll never forget when Jordan switched hands in midair or when Ray Allen hit that three at the buzzer. Those are the guys you want to be. They’re in the action at those key moments, not just spectating. But for some reason we do the opposite when it comes to life. Everybody wants to be a benchwarmer.”

Lee’s message: don’t be a benchwarmer. Live now. Don’t sleep in, but Rise.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

About Renegade

A husband and daddy, striving to love his neighbors and be kind to his pets. I love this life, good food, good beer, and a few good friends. My other interests are hiking, taking walks, lifting weights, reading books by manly authors like Hemmingway and Twain, and splitting fire wood with my bare hands.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Nowhere Tribune on WordPress.com

Categories

Copyright

Unless otherwise noted, all content © Me, the guy who wrote this stuff, 2012-2017.
