Book Review, humor

Review: An Atheist, a Vegan and a Crossfitter Walk into a Bar

51uzj53swlRated R for language and content.

The most positive thing I can say is that this book has a catchy title—catchy enough that I downloaded it and looked forward to reading it. Also, I would have loved it when I was 16.

And about that title, it has nothing to do with the book; it’s as random as everything that follows.

Instead of being a book, this is more a stream of immature ponderings laced with potty humor or worse. Which is why I hate to admit that I enjoyed parts of it; I laughed at things I shouldn’t have been reading at all, much less laughing at.

“Always trust people who like big butts. They cannot lie.”

The book is dirty, and childish, and I should hate it, but some parts were just too funny to stop reading.

The writing is awkward, like emails from some unknown person in some unknown place across the ocean asking you to send money:

“Anyway, to not leave the subject uncovered we will exemplify with the following story which will give you a better understanding of the family’s social role into society.”

Or:

“Why do sometimes girls seem to be so savages when they reject men?”

What are “sometimes girls” or “so savages”?

The boys writing this book aren’t the worst writers ever, but they definitely need to have someone else proof-read and edit.

At least they don’t take themselves seriously. They make fun of themselves and their book throughout:

“But, before we go on and on, because we will…”

And they did. But I laughed, so I’m as guilty as they are.

About Nowhere Tribune

A husband and daddy, striving to love his neighbors and be kind to his pets. I love life, good food, good beer, and a few good friends. My other interests are hiking, taking walks, lifting weights, reading books by manly authors like Hemmingway and Twain, and splitting fire wood with my bare hands.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Nowhere Tribune on WordPress.com

Categories

Copyright

Unless otherwise noted, all content © Me, the guy who wrote this stuff, 2012-2017.
